I’ve been a chart geek since 1990 when I started making my own Personal Top 20 (the very first #1 single on my personal charts? Release Me by Wilson Phillips). Thanks to the Internet, I can browse Billboard’s charts without having to buy the superexpensive magazine flown here each week.

This week sees a lot of things on the charts that are interesting only to chart geeks like me:

– Nellie Furtado’s #1 in the US with Promiscuous (featuring Timbaland) and #1 in the UK with Maneater. One artist at #1 in the UK and the US with different singles? That hasn’t happened since Usher’s Confessions Part Iand Burn, respectively.

– Nellie/Nelly is the second name to have topped the charts with a male and female artist (Nellie Furtado and rapper Nelly). The first name? Taylor (Dayne and Hicks).

– Look! Bananarama’s #2 on the Dance charts with Look on the Floor (Hypnotic Tango). I’m thrilled for them; I’ve been a fan since the mid-80s and supported them even with their brief 90s flirtation into Japanese pop territory (Avex Trax).

– Timbaland is HOT. Aside from Promiscuous, he’s produced SexyBack, the new single of Justin Timberlake (Timbalake? LOL). Glad he’s back; Timbaland’s in my Top 4 of favorite Afro-American producers (the other four being Darkchild, Jermaine Dupri, and Babyface).

