In 2000, a book titled The Prayer of Jabez, written by a Christian man named Bruce Wilkinson, swept its way to the top of the bestseller lists. This book revolves around the account of a man named Jabez (whose name, ironically, means ‘sorrow-maker’ or ‘Oh the pain!’), whose powerful prayer was answered by God. This is the full story of Jabez (1 Chr. 4:9-10, The Message translation):

“Jabez was a better man than his brothers, a man of honor. His mother had named him Jabez (Oh, the pain!), saying, “A painful birth! I bore him in great pain!” Jabez prayed to the God of Israel: “Bless me, O bless me! Give me land, large tracts of land. And provide your personal protection—don’t let evil hurt me.” God gave him what he asked.”

In just two verses, we can learn so much about how to claim victory in our lives. Take a look:

Jabez was a man of honor who prayed to the God of Israel.

Jabez was no Sunday church-goer; he practiced what he preached and believed in (‘he was a man of honor’). This man had a relationship with God. The NIV translation reads ‘Jabez cried out to the God of Israel.’ When we run to people we love and trust in earnest to ask for something, like a child to his parents, we cry out, don’t we? This was Jabez running to God, and we know we, like Jabez, can run to God confidently, approaching his mercy throne, when we have that intimate relationship.

Jabez prayed to the God of Israel: “Bless me, O bless me!”

Jabez’s prayer resounds with the earnest persistence of a man who just won’t quit. Not one ‘bless me,’ but two. Back in those days, this is what it meant to be blessed by God, and God did bless those who really wanted it, for some, even turning their lives around completely (e.g., Jacob, who was a liar and cheater before becoming Israel).

“Give me land, large tracts of land.”

The NIV version says ‘Enlarge my territory.’ What’s wrong with wanting more territory? God wants to prosper you and give you land, i.e., BIG THINGS. Big, grand, wonderful things that you can use to bring glory to His name.

“And provide your personal protection…”

Jabez asked for God’s personal protection. What are the implications of that? It means Jabez asked God to be with him. Always. That kind of close, intimate, personal relationship that means God will always provide, which we are also assured of in Phil 4:19.

“—don’t let evil hurt me.”

Jabez asked God to keep us free from all harm, which is also part of the prayer that Christ encouraged us to pray in Matthew 6:13. There is nothing wrong in asking God to help us remain healthy and holy.

“God gave him what he asked.”

No explanations. God just did it. 🙂

After the breakthroughs I experienced last Saturday, I have full faith in God’s power and desire to answer your prayers. Call upon Him and pray a similar prayer daily. That was part of the deal – don’t give up, storm the gates of heaven with prayer from a sincere heart. Start clean with Christ (here’s how), and walk in God’s way (Here’s how).

Starting tomorrow, I claim victory over many things in the name of Jesus, crying out to God to bless me, to enlarge my territory, to protect me, and to not let evil hurt me. Each victory will receive ample coverage in the ‘Jabez Journal’ category. I strongly encourage you to try it out too, to claim what is rightfully yours, in the name of Jesus, and see how God can work absolute signs and wonders in your life.

