A week before Victory Weekend, I cut soda from my system. To those of you who know me, I was a soda freak through and through. It was like my coffee, and I didn’t start my day without it. Pepsi Max, Coke Light, Mirinda… a dapepsibegone.gify would not be complete without at least a can, and if you count two or three cans throughout the day, that’s more than a liter of soda in me.

At the same time, I ate a LOT of junk food. I was an emotional eater, and I would eat at my desk at work, stashing away potato chips, corn chips, and other little munchies (even with a no-eating-at-your-desk policy! I repent!!). In short, I was subscribed to this RSS (really stupid steps) for obesity, and I was a basket case.

Over the course of the weekend, I was reminded – yet again! – that it is not God’s will for me to be fat and unable to break the system, so I claimed victory over softdrinks and chips in Jesus’ name.

It’s been more than a week since I stopped drinking soda, and no harsh withdrawal effects have taken place. This means I now chug approximately 16 glasses of water a day, thanks to my Lug-a-Jug. 😀 I’ve also stopped eating at my desk (which means no in-between meal snacks!), and I can feel the effects of my relatively healthier eating (e.g., oatmeal in the mornings, and lunch and dinner viands with only a cup of rice each, because I don’t necessarily want to shock my system).

Cathy said the effects are already starting to show, with my pants becoming slightly looser around the thigh area, and my stomach is feeling a little less compact.

My daily prayer always includes victory over obesity, and I believe God is making it happen slowly but surely. None of these are through my own real individual effort, so all these great things in my physical life are happening because God is blessing me so. Score yet another point for the power of prayer.

