13.gifIt’s been a long week. Please don’t get me wrong, but I’m really tired right now, and I’m a little demoralized at work for other people’s pains (I wish I could tangibly help them other than prayer, but at this time, I just can’t). I hold them to God’s promises though, specifically Psalm 46:10 (Be still and know that I am God.).
For this week’s Thursday Thirteen (Fridays in Manila), I write down 13 places I’d rather be right now than in front of my computer vomiting out copy:
1 At home, with Nathan and Cathy. I miss my son. Our house is an hour and a half drive away from where I live; that’s three hours on the road away from my kid. Today, we left the house and he was crying. Poor kiddo. Daddy wants to be with you, he really does.
2 At a resort in Palawan, with Cathy. Yes, we’re booked at the oh-so-comfy Hotel Fleuris hotel in Palawan, but to lounge around on the beach of your own private island Palawan resort, well, that sounds just perfect right now. The Flower Island Resort in Palawan or the Balesin Island Resort in Quezon. Ooooh.
3 At DLS-CSB, with Cathy. If DLS-College of Saint Benilde didn’t have that “no-two-members-of-the-same-family-can-work-here” policy, I imagine Cathy and I would’ve made a powerhouse marketing-and-admissions team. What I wouldn’t give to be back there. ๐Ÿ™‚
4 Bruno’s Barbers, by myself. I need a haircut.
5 Victory at the Fort, with my family. I love my church and I could stay there everyday. Tonight, though, we’ve got choir practice, and I gotta admit I’m not exactly looking forward to it because I just feel so fatigued. I can do everything through Christ who gives me strength, but when one of your ministries starts feeling like an obligation, man, you gotta think twice, n’est-ce pas? Gotta pray about focus.
6 Any moviehouse, by myself. I’ve missed Sukob, I’ve missed The Producers, I’ve missed Pirates of the Caribbean. I don’t wanna miss My Super Ex-Girlfriend too. If I catch it, that’ll be two Wilson films in a row (the other being Cars, the last film I saw).
7 Sbarro, with Cathy. I’m craving for a Chicago Deep Dish. Mmm.
8 Enchanted Kingdom, with my family. I could use some adrenalin right now, and EK is the only decent amusement park this side of Manila.
9 Spirals Buffet at the Philippine Plaza, with Cathy. I’ve heard so much about this place. I’d really like to find out what it’s all about.
10 Any Shopping Mall, by myself. I wanted to do something for Cathy along the lines of The Look for Less. It’s fun shopping, especially if (1) you’re shopping for someone else, and (2) you have money with which to shop.
11 Repertory Philippines. Last night, we talked about vision at Leadership Fundamentals, and I realized that what excites me most is music and the arts. Why am I not in this industry??
12 In Paranaque, with my Mom. There are days when I really miss my Mama. Today’s one of those days. I think I’ll give her a call.

And finally…
13 Heaven. C.S. Lewis said the Christians who did most of Christ’s work in this world were those who thought most of the next world. Evangelicals, the Roman apostles, the guys who built up the believers during the middle ages – these guys spread Christianity so greatly precisely because their minds were so preoccupied with heaven. If you think of the next world called heaven, you will be effective for Christ in this world called Earth.

Here’s my encouraging quote for you today: God isn’t looking for someone who is used to being wanted. He’s looking for someone who wants to be used. It’s not that God has preferences; it’s just so much easier to work with and bless someone who’s already with the program. Are you willing to get with the program and trust in Him to provide everything else you’ll ever need?

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!
The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. Itโ€™s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

