Updated! Click ‘More’ to read the full entry.

In February, I hit the big 3-0. No huge regrets, really, other than perhaps allowing myself to pack on a few more pounds that I would’ve liked. 😉

One thing, though, that I’d always wanted to do, but never really pursued, was some kind of interest in theater. I imagine I’d be good at it – I love to sing and act, and let’s face it, you’d be hard-pressed to find someone more melodramatic – but it never occurred to me to join the theater groups in high school or college, despite finding myself thrust into lead or vital supporting roles during class activities and inter-class presentations.

I had pretty much given up on that dream, when I received this little press release in my email:

HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL AUDITIONS NOV 25
The Asian premiere of the stage adaptation of Disney’s “High School Musical,” opening in February at the SM Megamall Theatre, has recently announced its creative team and will be having open auditions on Saturday, November 25, 2006. Auditions for lead and ensemble roles, will be held on Saturday, November 25, 2006 at 3rd floor Gonzaga Fine Arts Theatre (G306), Gonzaga Building, Ateneo de Manila University, from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Those auditioning must be 13 years old and above, and must be able to dance, sing and act. Prepare two Broadway songs and a 2×2 photo.

High School Musical?? Nathan practically lives and breathes that movie! I’ve got two CD copies of the album, and, well, the folks behind High School Musical are the same folks behind Footloose, a musical I truly, truly enjoyed. How could I not at least think about it? So I sent an SMS to the mobile number in the press release, asking if there were ensemble parts for 30-and-up (e.g., faculty, haha). The gentleman replied, “Yes.”

Cathy’s always told me that theater would be a good place for someone like me, and I do regret not considering the possibility of doing something in theater – especially family-variety theater – back when I was younger (and more limber, among other things). I imagine I would’ve made a good Lefou in a Beauty and the Beast revival, or perhaps a feisty Sebastian in The Little Mermaid. I remember watching Man of La Mancha, Footloose, and, only last week, Sound of Music (I think I saw my beautiful, oh-so-talented batchmate Teenee Chan in the emsemble), and telling myself a little more than wistfully – a la Chorus Line – you know, I can do that.

I know I’m not getting any younger, and I’ve always found myself full of excuses. Here’s a chance to actually get a foot in the door, so why not give it a shot? Sure, I’ve put on a few pounds (dancing faculty members, oi vey, but then again, Audie and Agot didn’t do much dancing until the end of Footloose), but if I do try out, and I do make it… well, more than anything, it could be my chance to try something new, and with something like High School Musical, which my son would appreciate and love, well, that could bring the most joy of all.

I’ll let y’all know how it goes, if I do decide to push through with it.

Update: It’s been ridiculous trying to decide which two Broadway songs to use for the audition. I love Broadway! When I did some searches online for free piano sheets, though, I only found three I could realistically use: Defying Gravity from Wicked, Circle of Life from The Lion King, and King Herod’s Song from Jesus Christ Superstar, so it’s with those three that I probably will have to choose something if piano sheets are required. If they’re willing to allow a capella, I may just use Anytime (I Am There), which is a moving ballad – heretofore unknown to 99.9% of the population – from William Finn’s Elegies that suits my vocal range, and The Magical Mr. Mistoffeles from Cats.

