Cathy and I were driving home one night when we started talking about videos, and we got to talking about our favorite music videos. As it turns out, my heavily pop-oriented lifestyle finds me selecting videos that simply appealed to me for its visual splendor and song style. Not surprisingly, almost all these songs come from the early 90s, so take a trip back in time when music videos toed the line between kitsch and kewl.

What are some of your favorite music videos?


Galileo by Indigo Girls. This is one of my favorite videos of all time, and if I had a choice, I’d probably have three Indigo Girls videos in my Top 5 – this one and their videos for Least Complicated and Touch Me Fall. I’ve always believed that Indigo Girls deserves a bigger place in the music pantheon, and this well-thought video, created cheekily with wit and sarcasm firmly in place, ranks highest amongst my favorite vids.


Walking On Broken Glass by Annie Lennox. I like this video because it’s so campy! As if that weren’t enough, John Malkovich makes a guest appearance as the fellow who breaks Lennox’s heart. This character shows up in a later video of Lennox’s, Little Bird. By the way, if you’re a fan of these Victorian-type videos, click here to see another splendid one from Bananarama for their cover of Long Train Running.


The Dream Is Still Alive by Wilson Phillips. Hey, a Ganns list without Wilson Phillips? You’ve got to be kidding. I like this video most of all, because it reminds me of a more innocent time, and the Flower Power heritage of Chynna Phillips and Carnie and Wendy Wilson comes to full fruition here.


Remember the Time by Michael Jackson. I remember this video was soooo hyped back in the day! It’s actually quite well-made, and the special effects here were state-of-the-art at the time. Yman has never looked more regal.


Cornflake Girl by Tori Amos. Between this and Silent All These Years, I would say Tori Amos is pure visual genius. Cornflake Girl is a visual spectacle of train of thought, a totally mesmerizing video that leaves the viewer strangely unsettled.

