gannshmm.gifToday’s devotional reading – on Day 1 of Victory Christian Fellowship’s communal fast, by the way – ran me through Ephesians 4-6, which are truly powerful chapters for walking the Christian life.

The devotional asked us to reflect on unity, but the outstanding theme that I seem to have gotten was about keeping the peace and being an example to others of self-control.

How hard can it be to keep one’s mouth shut?

It’s interesting because one of my resolutions this year was to “gripe less,” and this seemed to me as some kind of confirmation that I am on the right track.

The entire chapter reminds me that we are in the world, not of it, and being that, it’s not enough that we occasionally stand up for our beliefs, but remain consistent in it, because we stand by a moral code that preaches love, not apathy or hate, and endorses forgiveness, not retribution. How can we be beacons if we ourselves are so caught up in our own negativity?

Later on in Ephesians 5:3, we’re reminded “there must not be even a hint of sexual immporality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people. Nor should there be obscenity, foolish talk, or coarse joking, which are out of place…” (bold mine).

A fruit of the Holy Spirit is self-control, and I’ve yet to bear fruit in that regard, in terms of my speech.

In light of this, I’ve decided to withdraw (can you withdraw if you’ve never joined?) from the Ultimate Stand-up Comedy Challenge. I did research yesterday about clean comedy, and while I found dozens of comedians who can do it, I’m not sure I can, because my comedy revolves around making fun of my fat and my name, as well as L.A. Lopez (poor fellow!), my doppelganger.

I shouldn’t make fun of someone else to get cheap laughs, and sometimes, my comedy can get a little sordid, so rather than fall into that trap, I’ll just play safe and withdraw, because you never know who you might hurt when you open your mouth, yes?

At the same time, it’s safer because I don’t continually curse myself to remain fat. This year, I’m losing weight and gaining faith, baby!

