13.gif

For this week’s Thursday Thirteen (Fridays in Manila), I write down my 13 favorite sitcom characters.

1 Rose Nylund. Played by Betty White on the Golden Girls, Rose was a sweet but airheaded blonde from Minnesota. “Then the sheriff came, and I told him about how I kill men, and he didn’t believe me! He said, ‘Let’s see, sleep with me!’, so I did. Then the sheriff died!”

2 Phoebe Buffay. Played by Lisa Kudrow on Friends, Phoebe was a kooky lady who lived on the street before becoming friends with the rest of the gang. Phoebe: “Someday I’ll tell you about the time I stabbed a cop.” Monica: “What?!” Phoebe: “What! He stabbed me first!”

3 Chandler Bing. Matthew Perry played this character on Friends and has since gone on to become typecast in the role of the sarcastic best friend. “Everytime I see fishnet stockings, I’m reminded of… my father in fishnet stockings.”

4 Winnie the Witch. Played by Corinne Bohrer, Winnie was the lead character on Free Spirit, a forgotten sitcom – didn’t last a season – that is also memorable for a prepubescent Alysson Hannigan. “Not necessarily!”

5 Balki Bartokomous. Bronson Pinchot played this lovable character from Mipos on the hit 80s sitcom Perfect Strangers. “Now we so happy, we do the dance of joy!”

6 Murphy Brown. Candice Bergen played the title role in this runaway hit. “Oh my God, I have milk coming out of my breasts. This is like having bacon come out of your elbow.”

7 Karen Walker. Grace Adler’s rich secretary on Will and Grace was played by former talk show host Megan Mullally. Jack: “We need a good designer.” Karen: “Do you know any?” Jack (referring to Grace): “Why isn’t she speaking?” Karen: Because she’s hypnotized by her own dress.”

8 Dr. Niles Crane. David Hyde-Pierce was spectacular in his role as Dr. Frasier Crane’s brother on the hit sitcom Frasier. Niles (referring to Bebe, Frasier’s agent: “Oh, dear, don’t turn around. It’s that dreadful woman who works for you.” Frasier: “Who?” Niles: “Um… Lady Macbeth without the sincerity.”

9 Raymond Barone. Ray Romano played the title character on Everybody Loves Raymond. I relate sooo much. Debra Barone: “It’s not about winning and losing. ” Ray Barone: “You know who says that? The loser.”

10 Niles the Butler. Daniel Davis was delightful as the sarcastic butler in The Nanny. Oi vey, he was one of my favorites! C.C.:  “I couldn’t put a foot out of bed this morning.” Niles: “Did someone put a rock on your coffin again?”

 

11 Lucy Ricardo. All hail the irrepressible, incomparable Lucille Ball! I LOVE LUCY! Lucy (talking to Ethyl about Ricky) “He’s put his foot down so many times, I feel like I’m married to a cuban centipede.”

12 Fez. Wilmer Valderrama’s turn as the ever-horny, ever-sweet Fez (short, by the way, for Foreign Exchange Student, a little 70s spin right there) is hilarious. That 70s Show was a great show.

13 Grandpa Vladimir Dracula. Howard Morton was terribly funny as the cantankerous Grandpa Munster on The Munsters Today. Marilyn: 1988? It can’t be! Grandpa: Yes it can, and it is! But it’s no problem, I can have it fixed in a jiffy. Lily: Jiffy? You can not fix what happened, we have just taken a twenty-two year nap!

Get the Thursday Thirteen code here!
The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others comments. It’s easy, and fun! Be sure to update your Thirteen with links that are left for you, as well! I will link to everyone who participates and leaves a link to their 13 things. Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

