Despite a dress that critics slammed, Jennifer Hudson has won the Oscar! Ladies and gentlemen, Jennifer Hudson has won the Best Actress in a Supporting Role Oscar for her role as Effie White in Dreamgirls!

Hudson was slammed for her metallic python bolero over a floor-length chocolate gown by Oscar de la Renta, picked out by Vogue‘s Andre Leon Talley. Fashion critic and E! commentator Jay Manuel dissed the jacket/gown combination, saying “I love you, but there’s too much going on here.” Personally, I’m not a fan of the bolero either, but she looks good in the chocolate gown.

In becoming the first Afro-American actress to win an Oscar since Halle Berry won a Best Actress Oscar for Monster’s Ball, Hudson defeated Cate Blanchett (Notes on a Scandal), 10-year-old Abigail Breslin (Little Miss Sunshine), and Babel‘s Adriana Barraza and Rinko Kikuchi.

Hudson’s new album is dropping fall 2007. Congratulations, JHud! This is your moment, girl! LIVE IT! See, we don’t care what y’all say. Cathy and I are happy JHud won this Oscar, and I’ll take it as my nice little birthday surprise.

Note: JHud, you said on Tyra the other day that you Google yourself. Girl, if you find your way here, please leave me a note or an email, please, please, please. My wife and I have supported you and loved you since Idol. Throw two Asian fans some sugar. ;D Make it a birthday gift for me. 😀

