All the brouhaha over the Jesus ossuaries reminded me of the exchange between Phoebe and Ross in Friends, where Phoebe debunked evolution. In a world where truth can be twisted to appear relative, this conversation is a humorous reminder that logic, faith, and belief aren’t bed buddies.

Phoebe: Uh-oh. It’s Scary Scientist Man.
Ross: What? Ok, Phoebe, this is it. In this briefcase, I carry actual scientific facts. A briefcase of facts, if you will. Some of these fossils are over 200 million years old.
Phoebe: Ok, look, before you even start, I’m not denying evolution, ok, I’m just saying that it’s one of the possibilities.
Ross: What? It’s the only possibility, Phoebe.
Phoebe: Ok, Ross, could you just open your mind like this much, ok? Wasn’t there a time when the brightest minds in the world believed that the world was flat? And, up until like what, 50 years ago, you all thought the atom was the smallest thing, until you split it open, and this like, whole mess of crap came out. Now, are you telling me that you are so unbelievably arrogant that you can’t admit that there’s a teeny tiny possibility that you could be wrong about this?
Ross: (hesitant) There might be, a teeny, tiny, possibility.
Phoebe: I can’t believe you caved.
Ross: What?
Phoebe: You just abandoned your whole belief system! I mean, before, I didn’t agree with you, but at least I respected you. How, how, how are you going to go into work tomorrow? How, how are you going to face the other science guys? How, how are you going to face yourself? Oh! That was fun. So who’s hungry?

Hahahaha.

Note: At this point, I share my thoughts on the issues surrounding James Cameron documentary, The Lost Tomb of Jesus. If you decide to read further, please note that the content contains a declaration of faith in Jesus Christ, and if this type of content offends you, please feel free to transfer to another site. Comments are disabled because I do not wish to get into any logical, philosophical, or religious debate. Just as Phoebe requested Ross be open-minded about the possibility evolution may not be right, I request your open-mindedness about the possibility Christianity may be right. (I believe it is.)

Relativism aside, the James Cameron documentary is just the latest assault on Christianity, a belief system that a good number of people, dead and alive, have called the greatest ruse in the history of mankind. A non-Christian can use all the ‘fact,’ all the ‘science’ and all the ‘logic’ to disprove Jesus Christ is the Son of God, just as easily as Phoebe can use science, logic and relativism to disprove evolution.

James Cameron can believe whatever he wants to believe. I respect his right to do so.

This is what I believe:

I believe in a holy God, from Whom I am separated by sin. I believe no amount of good deeds will bring me closer to God. I believe the only way back to Him is through declaration and belief that Jesus Christ is the Son of God, and belief that Jesus exchanged his life for mine with his death on a cross. I believe only God can forgive me of my sins. I believe the Bible is the Word of God, and I live my life by the standards and principles outlined therein, not for merit, but out of gratitude for allowing His Son to die for me.

This is my truth, something I believe to be right. If perchance I am wrong about my faith, that Christ is not the Son of God, that He did not rise from the dead, that all this is pointless, then, okay. Let me be wrong.

I would have lived my life the best way I know how, guided by the beliefs I adhere to, and helping others to also live their best lives. I will go to my grave believing I lived a life that simply blessed people. Simply by having good relationships. Simply being me, flaws and all. All this goodwill, leaving behind a good name, raising good people who contribute to society positively… if I am wrong.

If my belief system is wrong, I still lose nothing because I live most of my life in joy. I love my life, and believe it is so because of my God. You could say it’s me, or luck. I say it’s God. Hey, it’s my right to blame my God for all this joy. For giving me direction. For giving me purpose.

And if I am right? To paraphrase Phoebe, isn’t there a teeny tiny possibility that I – and millions before me through time – might actually be right?

So please forgive me if occasionally, I run into you and talk to you about my God and my faith in Jesus Christ. Knowing I’ve received this awesome, wonderful gift, how can I be so incredibly arrogant as to keep it to myself? You can stop me in the middle of our conversation if you get uncomfortable, as it is your right. However, you cannot stop me from believing that Jesus Christ rose from the dead. That is my right, and no one, certainly not James Cameron, is going to take that away from me.

